Speculative Fiction
Sioned Davies [Tr.], 'The Mabinogion' (12th-13th centuries)
D. Heller-Roazen [Ed.], 'The Arabian Nights' (14th century)
Samuel Johnson, 'The History of Rasselas, Prince of Abissinia' (1759)
William Beckford, 'Vathek' (1786)
R. L. Mack [Ed.] 'Oriental Tales' (1992)
George Meredith, 'The Shaving of Shagpat' (1855)
George MacDonald, 'Phantastes' (1858)
Jules Verne, 'Twenty Thousand Leagues Under The Sea' (1872)
Robert Louis Stephenson, 'More Arabian Nights' (1882)
H. Rider Haggard, 'She: A History of Adventure' (1887)
F. Marion Crawford, 'Khaled: A Tale of Arabia' (1891)
H. G. Wells, 'The First Men in the Moon' (1901)
Lord Dunsany, 'The Gods of Pegana' (1905)
Charlotte Perkins Gilman, 'Herland ' (1915)
David Lindsay, ‘A Voyage to Arcturus’ (1920)
E. R. Eddison, 'The Worm Ouroboros' (1922)
Hope Mirrless, 'Lud-in-the-Mist' (1926)
Sylvia Townsend Warner, 'Lolly Willowes' (1926)
J. R. R. Tolkien, 'The Hobbit' (1937)
C. S. Lewis, 'The Lion, the Witch, and the Wardrobe' (1950)
Philip K. Dick, 'The Simulacra' (1963)
Philip K. Dick, 'Martian Time-Slip' (1964)
Frank Herbert, 'Dune' (1965)
Peter S. Beagle, 'The Last Unicorn' (1968)
Ursula K. Le Guin, 'A Wizard of Earthsea' (1968)
Ursula K. Le Guin, 'The Left Hand of Darkness' (1969)
Roger Lancelyn Green, 'A Book of Dragons' (1970)
Katherine Kurtz, 'Deryni Rising' (1970)
M. John Harrison, 'Viriconium Series' (1971-1984)
Norman Spinrad, 'The Iron Dream' (1972)
Michael Ende, 'Momo' (1973)
Philip K. Dick, 'Flow My Tears, the Policeman Said' (1974)
Ursula K. Le Guin, 'The Dispossessed: An Ambiguous Utopia' (1974)
Joanna Russ, 'The Female Man' (1975)
Samuel R Delaney, 'Dhalgren' (1975)
Marge Piercy, 'Woman on the Edge of Time' (1976)
Octavia Butler, 'Survivor' (1978)
Tanith Lee, 'Tales from the Flat Earth' (1978-1987)
Michael Ende, 'The Neverending Story' (1979)
Frederik Pohl, 'Jem' (1980)
Tanith Lee, 'The S.I.L.V.E.R. Series' (1981; 2005)
Michael Moorcock, 'The Dancers at the End of Time' (1981)
Michael Moorcock, 'A Nomad of the Time Streams' (1982)
Robert Irwin, 'The Arabian Nightmare' (1983)
Samuel R. Delany, 'Stars in My Pocket Like Grains of Sand' (1984)
Michael Ende, 'Mirror in the Mirror' (1984)
William Gibson, 'Neuromancer' (1984)
Robert Holdstock, 'Mythago Wood' (1984)
Diana Wynne Jones, 'Archer's Goon' (1984)
George Alec Effinger, 'When Gravity Fails' (1986)
Diana Wynne Jones, 'Howl's Moving Castle' (1986)
Jenny Nimmo, 'Snow Spider Trilogy' (1986-1989)
Susan Price, 'The Ghost Drum' (1987)
Robin McKinley, 'The Outlaws of Sherwood' (1988)
Susan Shwartz [Ed.], 'Arabesques' (1988)
Tad Williams, 'The Dragonbone Chair' (1988)
Susan Shwartz [Ed.], 'Arabesques II' (1988-9)
Judith Tarr, 'Alamut series' (1989-91)
Mary Gentle, 'Rats and Gargoyles' (1990)
William Gibson & Bruce Sterling, 'The Difference Engine' (1990)
Terry Pratchett, 'Small Gods' (1992)
Kim Stanley Robinson, 'The Mars Trilogy' (1992–96)
Neal Stephenson, 'Snow Crash' (1992)
Salman Rushdie, 'Haroun and the Sea of Stories' (1993)
Michael Swanwick, 'The Iron Dragon's Daughter' (1993)
Amitav Gosh, 'The Calcutta Chromosome' (1995)
Melissa Scott, 'Shadow Man' (1995)
Tananarive Due, 'African Immortals Series' (1997-2011)
Robin Hobb, 'Liveship Traders Trilogy' (1998-2000)
Diana Wynne Jones, 'The Derkholm Series ' (1998-2000)
Neil Gaiman, 'Smoke and Mirrors' (1999)
Nalo Hopkinson, 'Midnight Robber' (2000)
Bahiyyih Nakhjavani, 'The Saddlebag' (2000)
Nalo Hopkinson, 'Skin Folk' (2001)
Alan Moore, 'The League of Extraordinary Gentleman Vol. 1' (2002)
Anthony O'Neill, 'Scheherazade' (2002)
S. M. Stirling, 'The Peshawar Lancers' (2002)
Evangeline Walton, 'The Mabinogion Tetralogy' (2002)
Steven Barnes, 'The Insh'Allah series' (2002-2003)
N. Hopkinson & U. Mehan [Eds.], 'So Long Been Dreaming' (2004)
Diana Wynne Jones, 'The Tough Guide to Fantasy Land' (2004)
Octavia C. Butler, 'Fledgling' (2005)
Hal Duncan, 'Vellum' (2005)
Neil Gaiman, 'Anansi Boys' (2005)
Susanna Clarke, 'Jonathan Strange & Mr Norrell' (2007)
Ekaterina Sedia [Ed.], 'Paper Cities' (2008)
Ann & Jeff VanderMeer [Eds.], 'Steampunk' (2008)
Lev Grossman, 'The Magicians' (2009)
Scott Westerfeld, 'Leviathan' (2009)
Guy Gavriel Kay, 'Under Heaven' (2010)
Nnedi Okorafor, 'Who Fears Death' (2010)
China Miéville, 'The City and the City' (2011)
Saladin Ahmed, 'Throne of the Crescent Moon' (2012)
Howard Andrew Jones, 'Desert of Souls' (2012)
G. Willow Wilson, 'Alif the Unseen' (2012)
D. Al-Ayad & F. Fernandes [Eds.], 'We See A Different Frontier' (2013)
David Gullen, 'Shopocalypse' (2013)
J. Weisman & D. Sandner [Eds.], 'The Treasury of the Fantastic' (2013)
N. K. Jemisin, 'Broken Earth series' (2015-2017)
Nisi Shawl, 'Everfair' (2016)